Board and Committees

Our Executive Committee is composed of the President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. Executive Committee members serve a two-year term. The Board of Directors is composed of the Executive Committee and a maximum of seven directors. Directors serve a three-year term. Non-voting Board members include the Editor of the North Carolina Genealogical Society Journal, the Digital Marketing Specialist/Editor of NCGS News, the NCGS Webmaster, and any chairpersons of standing committees. The Board meets each quarter to conduct the Society’s business.

We welcome members to become involved with the Society by serving on a committee. To find out more about joining a committee, visit our Volunteer Page.

Board of Directors

Title Name Email Term 
President David McCorkle 2023-2025
First Vice President Tyrone Goodwyn 2023-2025
Second Vice President Sandra Watts Email 2023-2025
Secretary Rev. Dr. W. Becket Soule, O.P. Email 2022-2024
Treasurer Beth Snyder Email 2022-2024
Director Jim Davis Email 2022-2024
Director Sandra Crowley Email 2022-2024
Director Jon Smith Email 2022-2024
Director Renate Sanders Email 2023-2025
Director Andrea Zuschin Email 2023-2025
Director Open Email 2024-2026
Director Open Email 2024-2026

Committee Chairs and Staff

Committee/Role Name Email
Executive Director Michele Doyle, MSLS Email
Awards Committee Chair Open Email
Book Review Editor Rev. Dr. W. Becket Soule, O.P. Email
Budget and Finance Committee Chair Beth Snyder Email
Digital Marketing Specialist Anne Merrell Email
Education Committee Chair Jon Smith Email
Historian Rev. Dr. W. Becket Soule, O.P. Email
Journal Editor Diane Richard, MEng, MBA Email
Membership Chair Open Email
Newsletter Editor Anne Merrell Email
NGS Delegate Jim Davis Email
Nominating Committee Chair Open Email
Publications Committee Chair Sandra Watts Email
Publicity Committee Chair Renate Sanders Email
Publications Distributor Diane and Russ Barberio Email
RPAC Liaison Jennifer Daugherty Email
Society Liaison David McCorkle Email
Volunteer Chair Open Email
Webinar Committee Chair Sandra Crowley Email
Webmaster Mark Beasley, MScIT Email