Book Awards – Family History

“The award for excellence in publishing for a book of family history relevant to North Carolina”

2012 Margo Lee Williams for Miles Lassiter (circa 1777-1850): An Early African-American Quaker from Lassiter Mill, Randolph County, North Carolina
2011 Dr. John Quinly Williams Jr. for Our Roots: African Origins and the Reclaimed Legacy of Three American Families

     (1) Gates County Historical Society for Just Down the Road … in Our Own Words
     (2) Jonathan A. Underwood for The Underwood Family of Stanly County, North Carolina: A Biography and Genealogy
2007 Ruth Shipp Yarbrough for Remember Who You Are
2006 Rebecca L. Dozier for Descendants of John Jenkins, Colonial Governor of North Carolina, 1672–1850
2004 Rev. Nelson Weller for A Family History/Genealogy of the SCHAUSS/SHOUSE Family in North Carolina 1755 – 1900
2003 Jeffrey Lewis Williams for Lore and Legacy: A History for the Cheek, Sale and Sparks Families (2nd ed.)
2002 Dorothy N. Perkins for Thomas Norfleet of 1666 Vols. I & II

     (1) Agness Wiggins Gunter for Descendants of Captain John Wiggins of Martin County, North Carolina
     (2) Oren Alston Palmer Jr. for The Descendants of Colonel Robert Palmer
2000 George W. Willcox for A History of the House in the Horseshoe
1999 Henry and Willard Wright for The Life and Legend of Henry Cannon Smith
1998 Plummer Alston Jones Jr. for The Jones Family of Blounts Creek, Beaufort County, North Carolina with Allied Families
1995 Excellence in Publishing: Merrill Hill Mosher for John Freeman of Norfolk County, Virginia, His Descendants in North Carolina and Virginia & Other Colonial North Carolina Freeman Families
1994 Excellence in Publishing: Boyt Henderson Cathey for Cathey Family History & Genealogy, Vol. I: 1700-1900
1993 Excellence in Publishing: Anne Williams McAllister for Heinrich Weidner 1717-1792 and Catherine Mull Weidner 1733-1804, through Four Generations
1991 Book Award: Thurlo V. Byers for Descendants of David & Margaret Byers
1990 Award for a Book Published in the last 12 months: Carrie M. Jennings for Messick Ancestral File
1989 Award for a Book Published in the last 12 months:
     (1) Jo White Linn for A Holmes Family
     (2) Judith Garner Hinton for Letters Back Home